Analysis | Ohio voters asked for fairness in redistricting. They didn’t get it.

But the shape and powers of those nonlegislative entities vary, as the Ohio case shows. Just four states — Arizona, California, Colorado and Michigan — have systems that are basically independent of elected officials. The rest vest some power in elected officials, including Ohio, whose commission is made up of seven members: Gov. Mike DeWine (R), Secretary of State Frank LaRose (R), Auditor of State Keith Faber (R), House Speaker Robert Cupp (R), Senate President Matthew Huffman (R), House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes (D) and Sen. Vernon Sykes (D).

Subscribe to News360world Google News

Source link

Spread the Post